BUCS Equestrian Competition 13.03.13

I was asked to write a short article after competing last week and thought I’d upload it onto here as well, so here it is with the attached links to youtube videos of me competing 🙂

Hello, My names Louise Groom and I am currently 19 years old and in my first year of studying Wildlife and Media at the University of Cumbria, Brampton Road Campus. I got into Equestrian when I was 10 years old when I started riding at a local riding school (Hall Place Equestrian Centre) when I was 13 I started to volunteer as a helper at this riding school and continued this until I was 16. I also studied a First Diploma in Horse Care and a Level 3 Extended Diploma in Horse Management at Berkshire College of Agriculture where I came out of the courses with Distinctions along with my BHS Stage 1 and 2 and my Riding and Road safety exam.  Whilst studying at college I also worked at Rycroft School of Equitation which I got through a work experience module at college. I also competed in Show Jumping and Cross Country events at Hall Place Equestrian Centre by hiring out the riding school horses, as part of our course we also had to compete in Dressage and Show Jumping events and some were just fun shows.  By working at Rycroft School of Equitation I also had the chance to compete in their Show Jumping events by working on the day. This was where I competed in my first 3ft classes and even though I was nervous at the time I am very thankful for this opportunity.

I first considered competing for the university when working at Berkshire College of Agriculture over the summer when a new member of staff mentioned about most Universities have a riding team that you can compete in and I should try and get involved in one. Once I’d started University I decided that it would be something I’d like to do and enquired for more information. This lead me to compete at Brooksby College in Leicester last Wednesday (13th March) in a Individual qualifier competing in both Dressage and Show Jumping. The event started at 3pm and finished at 7pm and the members of staff of site where very friendly and helpful. I think I was very lucky with the horses I got for both the Dressage and the Show Jumping. It was pot luck in which horse you got as each horse was assigned a letter (A,B,C or D) and you had to pick one out a hat. I feel the Dressage went really well and I was happy with how it had gone after the test. I was also fairly happy with the Show Jumping even though I’d had 3 fences down.  Overall I really enjoyed this experience and am really happy with how it went.

My future aspirations are to become a Equine and Wildlife Photographer.

Snapshot 1 (16-03-2013 22-09)

Dressage Video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rSSIi9wI0Kg&feature=share&list=UUkw-iTJ8EWmORgcod8DsGFw

Show Jumping Video: http://youtu.be/0fvop1-8s_s

Leave a Reply

