An early rise

This morning I awoke to the sound of the dawn chorus under full swing, I chucked on some clothes set my camera up and was out the door at 4.30am with a rather suspicious dog looking at me as if to say ‘Excuse me, where do you think you’re going at this time of the morning young lady’. The reason for my awaking at this time, was to find the local foxes. I’ve seen foxes over the years just at the bottom on my road, just managing to catch a glimpse of them run off into the darkness.

So I set off at a brisk walk down the little path at the bottom of the street and walked in the direction of the park, I took the path that led down to the pond. Stood and looked at the geese and ducks (I kicked myself for doing this), I heard a loud rustle behind me and as I spun round I caught set of a little red bushy tail scurrying out a bush. I thought to myself ‘Typical that may well be the only fox I see this morning and I was too busy looking at the flipping geese which I look at all the time’. I walked back up the hill which lead to the main path and looked into the wooded area and there the fox was rolling round in the leaves. After taking a few pictures I glanced down at my camera and when I looked back up the fox had disappeared. I carried on walking spotting a great spotted woodpecker along the way.

About 15 minutes later whilst taking a picture of a blackbird I heard another loud rustle. I walked over a little bridge and hid behind some bushes and poked my head round the corner and there was another fox. There was a few moments of eye contact a quick snap and she fled. I turned round at this point only to find another fox sitting watching me and the other fox. I moved to a curb and put my 1.4x extender on the 300mm lens and set off again. I came across some squirrels which in actual fact I thought they were a cat stuck up a tree, when I looked up I was surprised. At this point I was seeing quite a few people walking to the station and walking their dogs, so I turned back the way I came. I was surprised once more to find another fox, much bigger than the others and not as flighty. The fox sat and I froze and looked and took some pictures. The foxed got up and started walking towards me, I was slightly shocked and looked for my nearest escape route, though I didn’t have to fear, he soon ran off up a path that led to some houses.

I couldn’t quite believe my luck this morning, I was thinking I’d be lucky to see one but 4. Wow. Seeing them in morning light, up close and not in the dark has made me realise how beautiful they actually are.
Anyway here are some pictures I took this morning, there not amazing but hey as far as first fox pictures go I wouldn’t say they are terrible. They can only get better right ?

IMG_6289

IMG_6284

IMG_6281

IMG_6277

2 thoughts on “An early rise

Leave a Reply

