Foxy Encounters

06/09/14

Last Friday I decided to get up at 4.15am to look for foxes like the summer before, only having luck once, on one of my outings last summer I wasn’t expecting much. Though I have borrowed a Canon 5D Mark 2 ii for the summer I hoped to achieve this at some point during the summer to get better pictures.

Already at 4.30am in the morning it was fairy sunny and warm, I stepped outside the door and heard a cuckoo calling in the forest quite close to my house. I thought mm maybe I should go to the forest instead…but I continued with my plan.

Walking silently and keeping my eyes and ears peeled I walked to the park, walking by the pond the geese and goslings swam over squeaking away. I continued and not long after a fox darted out in front of me, watched me hiding behind a pile of twigs, on hearing the camera shutter off ran the fox into the woods.

221

I walked the same walk that I walked last year, I didn’t find any further along than the entrance to the park but I did see the two herons (which I haven’t seen for ages). As it was gone 5am and rather light, people heading for the train, dog walkers etc I turned around to head home. So there I am bim-bling along the path at the bottom of this road this fox is running towards me, I gasp and just stare wondering whether to fumble around with my camera or not, the fox soon saw me and diverted its path very quickly. I near a bench and wonder if I should hide somewhere and wait for the return of the fox. Whilst stood there contemplating what I should do, I heard a rustle looking up just across the stream is a fox leaping in the air trying to catch a blackbird! I managed to get a few snaps before the fox disappeared.267271

I walked home grinning away.

11/06/14

Again I awoke early this morning for the foxes, a bit groggy I went back bet thinking maybe I should just go back bed, suddenly wide awake I was like what am I thinking…

Grey Heron

Once outside on I walked to the park, same route as Friday came across the first fox of the morning same place as last time (Déjà vu?) but this time it had saw me before I saw him, so off he shot in a flash.  Saw the heron again by the second pond and heard the woodpeckers but no foxes here. Heading back the goslings and geese are going on their morning stroll, I passed them and saw a orange flash of a fox just across the road, It stopped looked at me, I thought that’d make a nice picture out the open…vrrromm car came =fox grunted and ran.IMG_1011IMG_1018

So there I am walking along this path again, being very quite camera is at the ready. I hear rustling from my right; I peer through a gap in the bushes and to my delight 4 fox cubs rolling around on the floor and play fighting with the parents watching over them, one on either side. I watched intruding on this moment with a big beam on my face. They soon moved on and so did I, to the clearing bit though only parent comes out into the open for a short spell.

The fox picture below made me chuckle, I didn’t realised I was being watched and when I noticed (the second time I walked past) I laughed to myself because of the fox peering out checking if I’d left. I was also being watched by a jay.

IMG_1023IMG_1020

This evening I headed into the forest for a walk hoping to come across a deer, fox or an owl. I didn’t have much luck here (especially getting attacked by flies). I decided to do a loop back home and walk through the park just in case there was a fox. Well let’s just say I wasn’t disappointed! At the clearing there they were, the fox family. I crouched down hiding behind the nettles and just watched the cubs rolling around again; a fox went to jump the creek but saw me and decided against it. The cubs went back into the thicket but one fox remained just lying on the floor, I photographed this one for awhile, he/she didn’t seem fazed with me at all. Soon fed up of the limelight the fox strolled off.IMG_1037IMG_1056

I walked up the path a bit and saw a fox playing on a chopped down tree trunk. I hid here for awhile until I couple walking their dog spotted the fox, well the dog saw the fox first and started yipping at it, and the fox shot off like lighting back into the undergrowth.IMG_1054IMG_1052

I must say during this evening encounter I got bit the hell out of by the flies, I have 15-20 bites all painful and itchy but I must say it’s worth it! And the funny looks I get off of people that see me crouching on the floor.

IMG_1062IMG_1065


Not all the pictures are amazing but hopefully will improve over the summer; I also took some short (shaky) film today which can be seen here: http://youtu.be/iJAQSwbmu_g

4 thoughts on “Foxy Encounters

Leave a Reply

