Wildlife at Work

Just a quick update really as I have started working 5 days a week photos and getting out and about is limited. But spotting and seeing wildlife isn’t! Fortunately for me I work outside with horses at the college I went to, it got lots of lovely open spaces, meadows and woods! So whenever I am out an about on the yard or poo picking (glamorous) I am always on the lookout for wildlife. I used to say to my good friend ‘I should have a tv show called Wildlife at work or birding with Louise’ as when I spot something I’m always pointing it out as quite often it goes unseen!

So the wildlife I’ve seen at work this summer includes:

  • The swallows nesting in the stables.
  • House martins flying around
  • Kestrel
  • Plenty of Red kites!
  • Pied wagtail
  • Ring necked parakeets
  • Green woodpecker
  • Collared doves
  • Chaffinch
  • Loads of crows and pigeons!
  • Wren
  • Fox – spotted at about 10.30am!
  • and lastly this week a Little Owl!!!!!

Personally the Little Owl is a highlight for me, I’ve only every caught a glimpse of a Barn Owl hunting at dusk from a car and have always wanted to see a Little Owl. I thought I saw a the owl last Sunday when it flew out in front of me, a bit confused at the strange bird I thought it looked owl like but wasn’t 100% certain. But on Monday I found out indeed it was the little owl. I was casually going into a field to help catch two ponies when on a fence post nearby I saw the little owl! I stopped and just started gobsmacked at how close I was and the face I was staring face to face (well I was more looking down on) the little owl! It bobbed up and down and flew to a tree and watch me from there where I was getting the attention of Goshia I was whispered ‘An owl, an owl there is a little owl over here!’. As Goshia was walking over, it flew back to the post looked at me once more before going back to the tree and then flying off. I must say I wish I had my camera but I’m very happy just with the encounter!

In the same field again today I was poo picking and must have spooked the owl from its hiding spot as it flew out the trees and across the field!

I think I may take my camera to work on Sunday and sit out in the field at lunch to see if the Little Owl is around! 

 

Leave a Reply

