Canada – Day 1: 31/03/15

The wind rippled across the lush green grass. Was it the wind? Steel wings rattled and shook, the engine hummed in anticipation, patiently waiting its turn.  The time came and it surged forward and accelerated to over 140 miles per hour, gently pushed me against the back on the seat. We have lift off.

I had successfully navigated Heathrow Airport on my own and made it to the plane. I’m on my first solo trip.

Ever.

And that would be across the world to Canada.

Talk about throwing yourself in the deep end.

I haven’t felt overly nervous, well only at the airport. Once sat on the plane I was fine.

The flight was long and tough on the legs. I slept for a short while on the flight, woke up to a very numb hand and cramps. Sleeping on planes is not easy; I’m dreading the flight home as its overnight.  I ended up reading, watching Paddington and Into the Woods to pass the time.

10 hours later I landed in Calgary at 12pm. Compared to the UK where the field were an array of patchwork green in colour, here it looked flat, brown and dull and everything looked square.

I took a taxi from the airport to my B&B in South East Calgary. The B&B (Riverpath B&B) is a lovely house very big and spacious, the owner Arlene was very friendly and we got along pretty well. It felt like I was visiting someone I knew.

I had a big debate with myself, stay awake and battle the jet leg or conk out. I chose option one; it was a lovely warm day out so despite being tired I went for a walk to the river. It’s beautiful a real nice aqua blue and clear too. I then walked to Inglewood which was voted ‘Canada’s coolest neighbourhood’. It was pretty windy out despite the warmth.

IMG_4751

Leave a Reply

