Canada – Day 2: 01/04/15

I slept like a log.

Normally in new surroundings I find it difficult to sleep, but not this time. It was 7.30AM; an hour before my alarm.

I arrived at the B&B the day before. After struggling to find a taxi due to my booked taxi not showing, I finally made it. To top it off when arriving at the B&B nobody answered the door for 20 minutes. Great, it’s a scam I thought. Now what do I do?

I crawled out of bed and peeked through the blinds. The sky was tinted pink like candyfloss, the light reflecting off the city buildings “wow…..” I breathe.

I’d been told to help myself at breakfast and make myself feel at home. I showered and crept down the stairs. I feel slightly awkward just helping myself. I do it anyway, no one else is around.

It takes me a while to find the cutlery; I’d truly gone through all the draws now.

It was a lovely, warm day with clear blue skies.

I keep looking the wrong way when crossing the roads. People must be able to tell I’m not from here, which must be what the strange looks are for. The walk into the city was straight forward and relaxing with a slight breeze ruffling through my hair.

I used the weather to my advantage, and went up the Calgary Tower, the third tallest building in Calgary and much like the Empire State building in New York.

I’m glad I did. What a site! You can see for miles.

The views are spectacular! I gasped as I walked around, soaking in each direction I look out of. I can see the snow covered mountains in the distance. It’s beautiful.

It’s strange; everything looks flat up here and looks to be no hills. It’s so brown here; where’s the green trees and grass?

I wander back over to the glass bottom and look down. Whoa it’s a long way down. I feel myself start to sway and grab the bar. I must have pulled a face, as a Canadian lady turned and said “Yes, that is the building swaying in the wind”.

“Well that’s reassuring to know, I wasn’t sure why I was swaying” I replied.

Gosh I love the Canadian accent.

I left the tower and with my feet safely back on the ground I went to explore downtown.

First impressions? It’s posh. Everyone is dressed up in posh suits, dresses and heels. I looked very out of place in my jeans, outdoor coat and canvas shoes. Wandering around I searched for a shop to buy a sandwich.

I feel worn out, my feet are killing. I should have broken my shoes in before coming. I head back in the direction of the B&B. I see a model horse outside a shop, oh my gosh! There are cowboy hats in there. I’m quite excited by the model horse. Turns out you can have your picture taken with and by the cowboy hats. I really want one. I step inside gingerly and am immediately greeted by an elderly cowboy.

He certainly looks the part.

Cowboy: “Hello, how are you today?”

Me: “I’m good thanks, how are you” 

Cowboy: “Good, where are you from?”

Me: “The United Kingdom”

Cowboy: “Ooohhhh say hello for the Queen for me when you’re back won’t you”

I chuckled. Why do people assume you know the Queen as soon as they know you’re British?

Cowboy: “I have one person in here last week who I said the same thing too and turns out they work for Prince Charles, small world isn’t it?”

“Sure is” I reply.

I wander off and look at the hats, they are so cool! Yikes, rather expensive though. I wander over to the clothes rack, where there a sale section. Bonus, I make a beeline for it.

29 Canadian dollars and a top later, I leave the store and walk back to the B&B to relax before heading out to the thing I’d been dreading – Eating out alone.

Lucky for me I picked a small local restaurant with hardly anything there. I slid into a booth, ordered, ate and left in a breeze. Not that bad I thought to myself, walking back in the snow and bitter wind.

IMG_4820

Leave a Reply

